The other day, I was listening to a conversation of others.  During the conversation, it was said that  a young woman was looking for a “Sugar Daddy”.  Now, this happens to be someone whose story I know.  This got me thinking.

Call me naive, but I don’t see her as someone that wants a “sugar daddy”.  I see a survivalist.  Ill-equipped because men use her and she, in turn, uses them. We do what we learn.

Trauma changes our brains and the way we see the world and everyone in it. Trauma in this context doesn’t have to be rape or abuse. Childhood neglect is traumatic. When a child doesn’t get nurtured over a long period of time they do not learn to love themselves or others in a healthy way. It changes how they move and relate in the world.

I pray for our daughters that they will know their worth because we teach them they’re important. They will be independent because they are ARE ENOUGH. The will be great wives (if they choose to) because they know what they want.

I hope that with compassion, empathy, and understanding we can all be catalysts of change in the lives of others. Maybe its not as simple as placing a label and more important to try and understand why the label fits on the surface. Sometimes in life it’s not our parents that help us find love in and like for ourselves but others that love us and care.

