I told a friend 3 days ago “I hate change” but that is not true. I am just like so many of the folks I work with. I am AFRAID of change. Afraid of the unknown, afraid of leaving the familiar and comfortable. I was reminded yesterday that this is life’s challenge. Overcoming fear and welcoming change. Fear is an emotion.

I tell folks “ALL FEELINGS ARE WELCOME HERE” and we should not run from our feelings but embrace them all…the negative and the positive emotions. We have been taught to not like negative emotions such as anger, resentment, and fear. I’ve been taught that all of our emotions are important and I pass that on to everyone I work with and the folks in my personal life. So, if that is true, and I believe it is, maybe it’s not that we hate change…maybe we hate the fear associated with change.

So, today look at what you fear. Try to see how you can embrace your fear and become motivated by what you fear. Lastly, and most importantly, work to overcome the fear and welcome the change.

